Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last night I had the wonderful pleasure of attending my first Ottawa Fashion Week. I had no idea what to expect and I had an amazing time. I have to hand it to every single person involved in the organization of the event, from the designers to the Westin to the planners to the volunteers. It truly was a wonderful event and I hope the rest of the weekend goes just as well.

In these three posts I’ll cover the designers I saw and the general feel of the show from an “outsider’s” (outside of the industry, that is) experience. These posts will not be a great way to feature every look that went down the runway, or trends that are emerging. Rather I’m admiring the various pieces, and the Ottawa Fashion industry as a whole, and reflecting on my unique experience there. Enjoy!

In this post you’ll see my snaps the event featuring from Elena Hinke and Elena’s Creations, Amanda Emmanuel, and frAsh, so let’s get this show started…

The night started off with Elena Hinke and Elena’s Creations. These looks were bright, young, fun and feminine:

Next up was Amanda Emmanuel who featured some beautiful ready to wear pieces with a summer vibe, using bold, bright colours accented with neutral yet strong black. The whole collection made me want to escape to the Caribbean for a bit:

Following was the jewelry brand frAsh, who transformed the models into white feathery clouds to showcase beautiful, statement pieces with a delicate tribal edge:

Come on over to the next post to check out the runway shows from !Nu.I, Illyria Design, and Y!D.N.A Collection in Part 2!
-FM

